Govt committee on Taliban talks meets

Original source: The Dawn | Feb. 4, 2014 | No Responses

This article was taken over from The Dawn to bring it into attention of Informed Comment community for discussion.

ISLAMABAD: The committee representing the government for proposed peace talks with the banned Tehrik-i-Taliban Pakistan (TTP) on Tuesday began its meeting to discuss the situation emerging after the announcement of the TTP committee and its two members dissociating themselves from it.

The committee comprises Irfan Siddiqui, Special Assistant to the prime minister on national affairs and member of the committee, Rustam Shah Mohmand, a former Pakistan ambassador to Afghanistan, Peshawar-based journalist Rahimullah Yousufzai and retired Major Amir Khan.

The meeting was taking place in the office of Irfan Siddiqui, convener of the four-member government committee, and was discussing matters relating to the TTP committee.

The committee first nominated by the TTP included the names of Pakistan Tehrik-i-Insaf (PTI) chief Imran Khan, Maulana Samiul Haq, former chief cleric of the Lal Masjid in Islamabad Maulana Abdul Aziz, Professor Mohammad Ibrahim of the Jamaat-i-Islami (JI), and Mufti Kifayatullah, a former lawmaker of the Jamiat Ulema-i-Islam (JUI-F) from Mansehra. However, Imran Khan and Mufti Kifayatullah refused to become members of the TTP committee.

Read full article on: The Dawn

Posted in | No Responses | Print

Your thoughts

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

?Some HTML is OK