Five Senses

Posted on 03/31/2012 by marina

Wikis > Dictionary of Islam > Five Senses

FIVE SENSES, The. Arabic al-hawassul l-khamsak الحواس الخمسةAccording to Muslim writers, there are five external (zahari) sense and five internal (bating) senses. The former being those five faculties known amongst the European writes as seeing (basirah), hearing (sam’ah), smelling (shammah), taste (za’iqah), touch (lamisah). The latter: common sense (hiss-I-mushtarok), the imaginative faculty (quat-I-khail), the thinking faculty (quat-I-mutasarrifah), the instinctive faculty (quat-I-wahimah), the retentive faculty (quat-I-hafizah).

Based on Hughes, Dictionary of Islam

Thanks for being part of Foliovision!