Five Foundations of Islam

Posted on 03/31/2012 by __socrates

Wikis > Dictionary of Islam > Five Foundations of Islam
Shares 0

FIVE FOUNDATIONS OF ISLAM (1) Shahadah, or bearing witness that there is no deity but God; (2) Salat, or the observance of the five stated periods or prayer; (3) Zakat, giving the legal aims once a year; (4) Saum, fasting during the whole of the month of Ramazan; (5) Hajj, the pilgrimage to Mekkah once in a life-time. They are also called the five foundations of practice, as distinguished from the six foundations of faith. [ISLAM IMAN.]

Based on Hughes, Dictionary of Islam

Shares 0